Street Car Showdown proves tough for defending champs

The defending champions from last year’s Muscle Car Series at Brainerd International Raceway are off to a slow start, as all but two were knocked off in the elimination rounds during the 7th Annual Street Car Showdown Memorial Day weekend.

Winner Warren Peterson’s ’33 Plymouth.

The Showdown is the first race in the three-race series on the drag strip. The Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) was on BIR’s 2.5-mile Competition Road Course for the Harvey West Memorial Day Classic road race.

Rick Schmidt was one of the defending champs that survived the series’ first race. Driving his 2011 Mustang in the Pro Outlaw Class, he put on an amazing display of speed, winning the class with a final run of 220.73 mph and 6.384 seconds to dispose of Bill Krech, who shut his car down early.

Prior to the race, Schmidt said it was going to take an elapsed time of less than 6.4 seconds to win Pro Outlaw

Rick Schmidt
Warren Peterson
Warren Peterson

this year – typically the fastest class in the series. During the elimination rounds, his last two runs were under 6.4 seconds, and the third was 6.439 seconds.

In Outlaw, defending two-time champ Jake Delmonico lost in the finals to Warren Peterson and his 1933 Plymouth truck. Peterson’s finals run was 8.026 seconds at 175.75 mph. Delmonico had some trouble getting off the starting line, running 8.323 seconds and 176.40 mph.

Mike Sterling, last year’s King Street champion, lost in the second round to Josh Knudsen and his 1979 Cobra. Knudsen when on to beat Chris Orr in the finals when Orr’s car broke. Knudsen still ran 7.961 seconds and 173.63 mph.

David Senderhauf
Duane Godbout
Duane Godbout

In Real Street Unlimited, Duane Godbout was trying to improve on his third-place finish in 2014. He had his 1969 Chevelle dialed in as he won his way to the finals and then beat Dennis Orr with a run of 9.311 seconds and 131.79 mph. Orr ran 8.940 seconds and 171.58 mph but took .872 seconds to get off the starting line.

Bill Meyer was another third-place finisher last year with his eye on the title this season, and he’s off to a good start after beating Kerry Hemenway in the finals of Real Street Natural. Meyer and his 1991 Mustang ran 10.230 seconds and 110.80 mph for the win. Hemenway posted a time of 10.738 seconds and 123.92 mph.

Josh Knudsen
Josh Knudsen

In True Street, defending champion Todd Malik won his way to the finals, facing newcomer Dan Gefre and his ’83 Malibu Wagon. Malik was quicker off the starting line but couldn’t hold off Gefre, who edged him at the finish line with a time of 8.709 seconds and 155.78 mph. Malik ran 8.849 seconds and 150.65 mph.

Defending champion David Senderhauf takes the early lead in the 660 Outlaw Street Class after beating Lucas Mlinar in the finals. Driving an ’86 Mustang, Senderhauf was quicker off the starting line and drove to an eighth-mile finish of 4.916 seconds and 145.08 mph, while Mlinar ran 5.795 seconds and 155.94 mph.

The second leg of the Muscle Car Series takes the drag strip again during the PleasureLand RV Show & Go, July 3-5. This year’s event will feature the Trans Am Series on BIR’s 2.5-mile Competition Road Course as well as the National Auto Sport Association.

Results from each class are below.

Pro Outlaw
Finals: Rick Schmidt of Dickinson, N.D. def. Bill Krech of Inver Grove Heights
Semifinals: Schmidt had a bye; Krech def. Dick Malik of Blaine

Finals: Warren Peterson of Duluth def. Jake Delmonico of St. Paul Park
Semifinals: Peterson def. Steve Tharp of Maple Grove; Delmonico def. Dean Erickson of East Bethel

King Street
Finals: Josh Knudsen of Frontenac def. Chris Orr of Superior, Wis.
Semifinals: Knudsen def. Jason Geiger of Hanska; Orr def. Brian Mahnke of Proctor

Real Street Unlimited
Finals: Duane Godbout of Cloquet def. Dennis Orr of Superior, Wis.
Semifinals: Godbout had a bye; Orr def. Clint Gregerson of Grand Rapids

Real Street Natural
Finals: Bill Meyer of Andover def. Kerry Hemenway of Park Rapids
Semifinals: Meyer def. Robert Wilczek of Little Falls; Hemenway had a bye

True Street
Finals: Dan Gefre of Coon Rapids def. Todd Malik of Andover
Semifinals: Gefre def. Jason Nelson of Champlain; Malik had a bye

660 Outlaw Street
Finals: David Senderhauf of Zimmerman def. Lucas Mlinar of East St. Paul, Manitoba
Semifinals: Senderhauf def. Josh Brunz of Kasota; Mlinar def. Aaron VanHeel of Otsego

Strip Eliminator 1
Finals: Jesse Haugesag of Prior Lake def. Gerald Cook of Mora
Semifinals: Haugesag def. Mark Angier of Waconia; Cook def. Brad Lesnick of Maplewood

Strip Eliminator 2
Finals: Lee Purdham of Deerwood def. Justin Iverson of Saginaw
Semifinals: Purdham def. Scott Hielscher of Otsego; Iverson def. Scott Davich of Pequot Lakes

Strip Eliminator 3
Finals: Gary Tesar of Medina def. Steve Twaddle of Virginina
Semifinals: Tesar def. Cameron Novak of Rice; Twaddle def. Gordy Hanson of Iron

Truck Eliminator
Finals: Jerry Jablonski of Duluth def. Roger Bednar of East Gull Lake
Semifinals: Jablonski def. Chad Rach of Aitkin; Bednar def. Steve Enberg of Winsted

Manual Transmission
Finals: Keith Sand of Cambridge def. Kelly Rutz of Randall
Semifinals: Sand def. Dan Bozer of Minnetonka; Rutz had a bye

Index Class Champion
Finals: Nick Enberg of Minnestrista def. Eric James of St. Cloud
Semifinals: Enberg def. Gary Olson of Sartell; James had a bye

9.50 Index
Finals: Eric James of St. Cloud def. Patrick Heubner of Bloomington
Semifinals: James def. Gerald Cook of Mora; Heubner def. Bruce Johnson of Duluth

 10.00 Index
Finals: Austin Siemers of Milaca def. Kevin Sands of Cambridge
Semifinals: Siemers def. Greg Maaninga of Menahga; Sands had a bye

10.50 Index
Finals: Nick Enberg of Minnetrista def. Brad Miller of Duluth
Semifinals: Enberg def. Mike Hammerstrom of Bemidji; Miller def. Dave Vasseur of Rogers

11.00 Index
Finals: Bryan Hansen of Minneapolis def. Jesse Haugesag of Prior Lake
Semifinals: Hansen def. Jason Hartkopf of Eden Valley; Haugesag had a bye

11.50 Index
Finals: Zach Stengel of Blaine def. Jon Kelly of Newport
Semifinals: Stengel had a bye; Kelly def. Nate Hubert of Ramsey

12.00 Index
Finals: Gary Olson of Sartell def. John Feesl of St. Paul Park
Semifinals: Olson def. David Brill of Fort Ripley; Feesl def. Doug Covington of Merrifield

12.50 Index
Finals: Kevin Hemenway of Park Rapids def. Lonnie Ellenson of Park Rapids
Semifinals: Hemenway had a bye; Ellenson def. Reid Watson of Laporte

13.00 Index
Finals: Jesse Backstrom of Grand Marais def. Aaron Hall of Rogers
Semifinals: Backstrom def. Scott Hielscher of Otsega; Hall had a bye

13.50 Index
Winner: Nathan Olson of Sartell

14.00 Index
Finals: Jessica Purdham of Albertville def. Tom Leonard of Robbinsdale
Semifinals: Purdham def. David Hyttsten of Monticello; Leonard had a bye