Romanyshyn, Mahnke, Godbout gunning for series sweep

Drag racers at Brainerd International Raceway proved on Sunday that they’re a patient bunch.

After two days of qualifying runs, the field was set for elimination rounds on Sunday, when racers would determine the class champs in the second leg of the three-race Muscle Car Series, which was last weekend during the PleasureLand RV Show & Go. But instead of starting Sunday with a lot of smoke and speed, racers woke up to rain, rain and more rain.

The rain quit shortly after noon, though, giving way to sunny skies. With 340 cars, BIR squeezed in all the racing just before dark.

Bubba Romanyshyn had another undefeated weekend in the Outlaw class. Romanyshyn won the first series race, the Street Car Showdown on Memorial Day weekend, and made it two in a row after beating 2016 Outlaw series champ Greg Schmidt in the finals.

Bubba Romanyshyn, Outlaw

As the No. 1 qualifier, Romanyshyn ran 7.200 seconds at 213.27 mph to better Schmidt’s time of 7.498 seconds and 173.83 mph.

Drag racing was only part of the Show & Go’s racing program. The Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) was on the road course for for the Mid-Summer Classic, which featured various classes of closed- and open-wheel racers and vintage cars.

Rob Meservier, Outlaw Pro Mod

In Outlaw Pro Mod, the field was wide open for someone to take over first place. The top two racers in the standings, Rick Schmidt and Ray Fuchs, were both no-shows, after spending the last two seasons beating up on each other in each finals and swapping class championships.

Brian Mahnke, King Street

On Sunday, Rob Meservier proved to have the fastest car in the class when he beat Chris Willemsen in the finals, with a winning time of 6.920 seconds and 197.74 mph. Willemsen’s car broke but he earned enough points to slip into first place above Schmidt and Fuchs with only the series finale left: the GSTA Muscle Car Shootout on Labor Day Weekend.

Duane Godbout, Real Street Unlimited

The King Street final featured 20 cars but the finals came down to the same drivers in the finals of the Street Car Showdown: Brian Mahnke and Dick Fulton. The two qualified Nos. 2 and 3, behind top-qualifier Jad Carlson, but Fulton knocked out Carlson in the semifinals to set up the rematch.

Robert Wilzcek, Real Street Natural

Fulton beat Mahnke during the Showdown but Mahnke got revenge Sunday when Fulton’s car broke and coasted through the finish line. Mahnke completed his last pass with a time of 7.796 seconds and 180.98 mph.

Duane Godbout continued his domination in the Real Street Unlimited class. He’s now 2-0 in finals races this year and is looking for a sweep during the GSTA Muscle Car Shootout. Godbout beat Jacob Cooney in the finals when Cooney’s car broke during the pass.

Jason King, True Street

In Real Street Natural, Bob Wallin lost in the finals but appears to be headed for repeat championship. He’s significant – but not insurmountable – lead in the point standings after losing to Robert Wilczek in the finals by a thread. Both drivers were off the starting line at the same time but Wilczek had a little more under the hood. He won with a 9.334-second pass at 144.29 mph, while Wallin ran 9.454 seconds and 140.78 mph.

True Street has a log jam at the top of the standings after Jason King beat Bill Rolow in a close finals race. King won with a time of 8.410 seconds and 161.67 mph. Rolow ran 8.701 seconds at 158.86 mph.

Chris Gullickson, 660 OS

Chris Gullickson made his No. 1 qualifying position stick with a finals win in 660 Outlaw Street over Jesse Nelson, who had trouble getting off the starting line. Gullickson closed the gap in the standings but still trails defending series champ Brian Carpenter, who’s on top of the standings.

Nick Enberg, Index Class Champ

Nick Enberg won the 11.50 Index class, which qualified him for the Index Class Champion run-off. The 10 Index class winners are paired up in a bracketed format, with the winner crowned as Index Class Champion. Enberg mowed down his first two opponents, which earned him a bye in the semifinal round. In the finals, he faced off against Jason Hartkopf, the winner of the 11.00 Index. Enberg blew Harkopf off the starting line and held on for the win.

Below are the final round results for each class.

Pro Outlaw Mod
Finals: Rob Meservier def. Chris Willemsen

Finals: Bubba Romanyshyn def. Greg Schmidt

King Street
Finals: Brian Mahnke def. Dick Fulton

Real Street Unlimited
Finals: Duane Godbout def. Jacob Cooney

Real Street Natural
Finals: Robert Wilczek def. Bob Wallin

True Street
Finals: Jason King def. Bill Rolow

660 Outlaw Street
Finals: Chris Gullickson def. Jesse Nelson

Strip Eliminator 1
Finals: Logan Loesch def. Gary Tesar

Strip Eliminator 2
Finals: Jim Carson def. Mike Miceli

Strip Eliminator 3
Finals: Zach Schloesser def. Eric Waba

Truck Eliminator
Finals: Pete Trombley def. Justin Olafson

Manual Transmission
Finals: Sam Weyker def. Cameron Dorion

Index Class Champion
Finals: Nick Enberg def. Jason Hartkopf

9.50 Index
Finals: Scott Miller won

10.00 Index
Finals: Jesse Haugesag def. Eric Baker

10.50 Index
Finals: Mike Yocum def. Mike Hammerstrom

11.00 Index
Finals: Jason Hartkopf def. Dan Boyce

11.50 Index
Finals: Nick Enberg def. Isaac Hestnas

12.00 Index
Finals: Shane Halverson def. Shawn Hammre

12.50 Index
Finals: Kevin Hemenway def. Terry Novak

13.00 Index
Finals: Jesse Backstrom def. Josh Maras

13.50 Index
Finals: Kari Connor def. Tim Conner

14.00 Index
Finals: Steve Enberg def. Jessica Purdham