BIR announces its ET Finals drag racing team

A team of drag racers from Brainerd International Raceway will compete this weekend at the NHRA West Central Summit Racing ET Finals at Heartland Park in Topeka, Kan. BIR today announced the 35 racers who will represent the track

BIR’s drag racing team will compete against teams from 15 other tracks in the NHRA’s West Central Division, which stretches from Wyoming to Wisconsin and from Colorado to Kansas, including part of Canada. More than 500 racers are expected to compete.

The drag racers on BIR’s team earned their way onto the roster based on the success they’ve had in BIR’s Bracket Drag Racing Series, which is an eight-weekend, 16-race series with one weekend left (Sept. 28-30). The racers on the team are at the top of the point standings in their respective classes.

The ET Finals has five classes: Super Pro, Pro ET, Sportsman, Pro Bike and High School. At stake are individual and team honors, prize money and contingency awards. Some drivers even have a shot at earning a trip to compete for a national championship in Ponoma, Calif., during the NHRA’s Auto Club Finals in November.

The racers competing for the trip to Pomona are those selected for the Race of Champions.. Each team identifies one racer in each of four classes (not High School) to represent the team in the Race of Champions. Racers are paired up in an elimination format by class to determine the class champions, which advance to compete against the top drivers from the NHRA’s other six divisions for a national championship in Pomona. The BIR teammates competing in the Race of Champions are Steve Roehrs (Super Pro), Joe Howell (Pro ET), Jerry Hieb (Sportsman) and Jimmy Paulson (Pro Bike).

Below are the members of BIR’s ET Finals team – good luck!

Steve Roehrs of Frederic, Wis. – Race of Champions
Mike Campbell of Roseville
Travis Reutzel of Annandale
Ryan Scheleck of St. Cloud
Greg Grundman of St. Cloud
Chuck Roycraft of Minnetonka
Dave Engler of Ramsey
Brian Johnson of Nowthen
Cam Grundman of St. Cloud
Trevor Wirtjes of Melrose
Ron Wirtjes of Wheaton
Bryce Miller of Maple Lake
Mike Anderson of St. Joseph

Joe Howell of Big Lake – Race of Champions
Nick Engler of South Haven
Travis Reutzel of Annandale
Christopher Takacs of Thunder Bay, Ontario
Bob Ingman of Andover
Steve Brings of Howard Lake
Zach Zavadil of Clearwater
Mike Casteel of Thief River Falls
Dan Gilgosch of Lino Lakes
Kayla Noyes of Andover
Tevin Zavadil of Clearwater
Jason Charlton of Grand Rapids

Jerry Hieb of Maple Grove – Race of Champions
Joe Moriarty of Ham Lake
Troy Luberda of Foley
Jason Charlton of Grand Rapids
Lee Dugdale of Scandia
Russ Elzy of Becker
Luke Schneider of St. Joseph

Jimmy Paulson of Stacy – Race of Champions
Wyatt Niesen of Brooklyn Park
Max Niesen of Brooklyn Park