Fuchs, Peterson return to Winner’s Circle during Showdown

It’s been nearly three years since Ray Fuchs raced his way to the Winner’s Circle in a Muscle Car Series event but his 2016 season is off to a great start as he knocked off the defending champ last weekend in the finals of the Pro Outlaw Class during the 8th Annual Street Car Showdown.

Rick Schmidt has been a tough driver to beat over the last two seasons, repeating as Pro Outlaw champ both years, which were his first two seasons racing at Brainerd International Raceway. But he fouled at the starting line in the finals, handing Fuchs the win.

Ray Fuchs
Ray Fuchs
Warren Peterson
Warren Peterson
Dick Fulton
Dick Fulton

Fuchs had the fastest car in the seven-car field last weekend, earning the No. 1 Qualifier position and posting the fastest speed (218.48 mph) and the best time (6.488 seconds). The 218.48 mph was his personal best and he narrowly missed breaking his best time (6.43 seconds).

Fuchs said he was happy with the win and even happier that the Studebaker performed well. Last year, he blew up the transmission at all three races. He’s using a different tranny now and is still trying to figure it out. “It didn’t break but it’s not working quite right either,” he said.

Fuchs and 212 other drag racers competed in the first leg of the three-race Muscle Car Series last weekend. While the drag racers were slugging it out on the drag strip, BIR’s 2.5-mile Competition Road Course  hosted the Sports Car Club of America’s (SCCA) Harvey West Memorial Day Classic. Nearly 100 cars were on track, competing in various classes and offering fans some great wheel-to-wheel action.

Robert Wilczek
Robert Wilczek
Zach Novak
Brian Carpenter

Back on the drag strip, Warren Peterson proved that his Outlaw championship last year was no fluke. Peterson and his 1933 Plymouth knocked off Dean Erickson in the finals with a run of 7.708 seconds at 181.57 mph. Erickson ran 7.894 seconds at 172.83 mph.

Chris Orr had the fastest car in the King Street Class , a 1967 Firebird that ripped off the top speed of the weekend at 183.67 mph and the best time: 7.622 seconds. He appeared to be on his way to a finals win when he lined up against Dick Fulton, but he fouled at the starting line, giving Fulton a free pass to the Winner’s Circle. Fulton and his ’69 Firebird still ran an impressive 8.004 seconds at 172.81 mph.

Orr’s brother, Dennis, posted the top speed (177.25 mph) and the best time (8.250 seconds) in the Real Street Unlimited Class but ran up against the No. 1 qualifier, Jesse Nelson, in the finals. The result, as one might expect, was one of the closest races of the weekend, with Orr eeking out a win by running 8.511 seconds at 176.49 mph in his ’70 Camaro. Nelson and his ’70 Chevelle ran 8.527 seconds at 173.27 mph.

Last year, Robert Wilczek finished the season in second place in the Real Street Natural Class, but now he’s sitting in first place after disposing of the field and beating No. 1 qualifier Darrell Godbout in the finals with a run of 9.169 seconds at 146.94 mph. Godbout, who posted the best time of the weekend (8.970 seconds) and the top speed (155.38 mph), ran 9.526 seconds at 148,80 mph.

In True Street, Zach Novak beat Jason Nelson in the finals with a time of 8.786 seconds at 146.43 mph. Nelson ran 8.811 seconds at 158.59 mph.

Brian Carpenter was the guy to beat in the 660 Outlaw Street Class. He was the No. 1 qualifier with the best time of 4.645 seconds and the top speed at 167.66 mph. (The 660 Outlaw Street Class only races a one-eighth mile track.) Carpenter proved that he deserved a trip to the Winner’s Circle when he beat Josh Brunz in the finals with a run of 4.709 seconds and 162.88 mph. Brunz ran 5.433 seconds and 137.22 mph.

Below are the results of the finals in each of the classes. Click here to view the Muscle Car Series standings.

Pro Outlaw
Finals: Ray Fuchs of Bowman, N.D. def. Rick Schmidt of Dickenson, N.D.

Finals: Warren Peterson of Duluth def. Dean Erickson of East Bethel

King Street
Finals: Dick Fulton of Crystal def. Chris Orr of Superior, Wis.

Real Street Unlimited
Finals: Dennis Orr of Superior, Wis. def. Jesse Nelson of Mountain Iron

Real Street Natural
Finals: Robert Wilczek of Little Falls def. Darrell Godbout of Carlton

True Street
Finals: Zach Novak of Sauk Rapids def. Jason Nelson of Champlain

660 Outlaw Street
Finals: Brian Carpenter of Forest Lake def. Josh Brunz of Kasota

Strip Eliminator 1
Finals: Dan Boyce of Minnetonka def. Ryan Stellmach of Willow River

Strip Eliminator 2
Finals: Lonnie Ellenson of Park Rapids def. Wendy Lane of Brainerd

Strip Eliminator 3
Finals: Scott Davich of Pequot Lakes def. Brian Anderson of Medina

Truck Eliminator
Finals: Taylor Tesar of Medina def. Matt Muellner of Proctor

Manual Transmission
Finals: Keith Sand of Cambridge def. Kevin Lendt of Nicollet

Index Class Champion
Finals: Kevin Hemenway of Park Rapids def. Will Matsch

9.50 Index
Finals: Austin Siemens of Milaca def. Kevin Sand of Cambridge

10.00 Index
Finals: Will Matsch def. Brian Peterson of Park Rapids

10.50 Index
Finals: Mike Hammerstrom of Bemidji def. Lawrence Curtis of Bethel

11.00 Index
Finals: Chad Sodren of Bethel def. Dan Boyce

11.50 Index
Finals: Zach Stengel of Blaine def. Karl Echardt of Pequot Lakes

12.00 Index
Finals: Gary Olson of Sartell def. Nathan Olson of Sartell

12.50 Index
Finals: Kevin Hemenway of Park Rapids def. Jake Stanley of Zimmerman

13.00 Index
Finals: Jesse Backstrom of Grand Marais def. Logan Miceli of Big Lake

14.00 Index
Finals: Jessica Purdham of Albertville def. Todd Anderson of Brainerd