Moore, Mosbek take wins during Thunder at the Lakes

In the final results from Brainerd International Raceway and the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Thunder at the Lakes, Kevin Moore and Gene Mosbek took home wins and the championship NHRA Wally trophies.

Moore, who is the defending NHRA West Central Division Lucas Oil champion, grabbed his second win in a row taking out Rick Bowman in Super Gas. The Littleton, Colo., racer took the early lead and held on with a 9.915-second pass at 162.84 mph in his ’34 Chevrolet. Bowman crossed the line in his ’59 Corvette at 9.934 seconds, 155.38 mph.  Moore took the win last month at S.R.C.A. Dragstrip.

Gene Mosbek won the Super Stock class at Thunder at the Lakes.
Gene Mosbek won the Super Stock class at Thunder at the Lakes.

Mosbek, of Elk River, faced off will fellow Minnesotan Jason DeForrest of Andover in Super Stock with his ‘67 Savoy crossing the line ahead of DeForrest. Mosbek went 10.188 seconds at 128.73 mph.  This was DeForrest’s second final round in as many races as he joined Moore in the winner’s circle at S.R.C.A.

Matt Harris faced off with 2006 NHRA division champion Clint Sallee in the Comp Eliminator final round with Harris, Nebraska City, Neb., taking the easy win right off the line when Sallee turned on the red-light with a foul start.  Harris coasted across the finish line in his ’05 Grand Am for the win.

Three more home state racers won this weekend as Brian

Kevin Moore won the Super Gas Class in his '34 Chevy.
Kevin Moore won the Super Gas Class in his ’34 Chevy.

Johnson of Anoka took the Super Comp title, Donnie Durenberger of Dayton beat Keith Hildahl of Northfield in Super Street and Kyle Lundberg of Isanti beat Jayme Bode in Sportsman Motorcycle presented by Harley Davidson. Johnson beat division champ Chris Brown with an 0.018-second package running 8.903 seconds on the 8.90 dial, Durenberger won on a double break-out, and Lundberg defeated Brown in a close one on his ’10 Hayabusa.

Larry Piper continued his winning ways taking the win in the Fineline Madcap Top Dragster. Piper, who won the NHRA national event last month in Topeka, Kan., held on to beat Don Kritzky with a lap of 7.234 seconds at 179.66 mph.

The final wins went to Rich Smith in the Jerry Haas Racecars Top Sportsman class and Tim Lisson in Stock Eliminator. Smith, Wentzville, Mo., beat the defending event champion Dave Slatten in 7.166 seconds at 196.59 mph while Lisson won with a 0.012 second hole shot over Tyler Wudarczyk.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Thunder at the Lakes event at Brainerd International Raceway:

Matt Harris, Nebraska City, Neb., ’05 Grand AM, D/A, 10.258, 91.46  def. Clint Sallee, Glendive, Mont., ’13 dragster, B/D, foul.

Gene Mosbek, Elk River, Minn., ’64 Savoy, SS/EA, 10.188, 128.73 def. Jason DeForrest, Andover, Minn., ’87 Camaro, GT/DA, 9.589, 133.47.

Tim Lisson, Solon Springs, Wis., ’89 Pontiac, I/SA, 11.482, 113.87  def. Tyler Wudarczyk, Topeka, Kan., ’69 Nova, G/SA, 11.493, 104.82.

Brian Johnson, Anoka, Minn., dragster, 8.903, 169.04 def. Chris Brown, Wichita, Kan., dragster, foul.

Kevin Moore, Littleton, Colo., ’34 Chevrolet, 9.915, 162.84 def. Rick Bowman, Solon, Iowa, ’59 Corvette, 9.934, 155.38.

Donnie Durenberger, Dayton, Minn., ’68 Camaro, 10.897, 144.21 def. Keith Hildahl, Northfield, Minn., ’64 Falcon, 10.887, 133.51.

Larry Piper, Wamego, Kan., dragster, 7.234, 179.66 def. Don Kritzky, Cottage Grove, Minn., dragster, 7.149, 183.49.

Rich Smith, Wentzville, Mo., ’04 Cavalier, 7.166, 196.59  def. Dave Slatten, Ft. Collins, Colo., ’05 Pontiac, 7.207, 175.59.

Kyle Lundberg, Isanti, Minn., ’10 Hayabusa, 9.032, 138.84  def. Jayme Bode, Gibbon, Minn., ’85 Suzuki, 9.480, 135.01.