BIR’s ET Finals team is set to defend title

A team of drag racers from Brainerd International Raceway will defend the championship it won last year during the NHRA West Central Summit Racing ET Finals at Heartland Park in Topeka, Kan., this weekend. BIR today announced the 40 racers who will represent the track

BIR’s drag racing team will compete against teams from 15 other tracks  in the NHRA’s West Central Division, which stretches from Wyoming to Wisconsin and from Colorado to Kansas, including part of Canada. More than 450 racers are expected to compete.

The drag racers on BIR’s team earned their way onto the roster based on the success they’ve had in BIR’s Bracket Drag Racing Series, which is a six-weekend, 12-race series with one weekend left (Oct. 1-2). The racers on the team are at the top of the point standings in their respective classes.

The ET Finals has five classes: Super Pro, Pro ET, Sportsman, Pro Bike and High School. At stake are individual and team honors, prize money and contingency awards. Some drivers even have a shot at earning a trip to compete for a national championship in Ponoma, Calif., during the NHRA’s Auto Club Finals in November.

The racers competing for the trip to Pomona are those selected for the Race of Champions.. Each team identifies one racer in each of the five classes to represent the team in the Race of Champions. Racers are paired up in an elimination format by class to determine the class champions, which advance to compete against the top drivers from the NHRA’s other six divisions for a national championship in Pomona. The BIR teammates competing in the Race of Champions are Brian Johnson (Super Pro), Bryce Miller (Pro ET), Brandon Schmall (Sportsman) and Kyle Lundberg (Pro Bike).

“Our team will have a giant target on our back this year after winning it all last year,” said BIR owner Jed Copham. “But that’s OK, because we have some of the best bracket drag racers in the country, and we all think we can repeat this year. We’re looking for another great weekend of racing.”

Below are the members of BIR’s ET Finals team – good luck!

Race of Champions
Brian Johnson of Nowthen – Super ProBrandon Schmall of Lino Lakes – Sportsman
Bryce Miller of Maple Lake – Pro ET
Kyle Lundberg of Isanti – Pro Bike

Super Pro
Kyle Loeffelholz of Shafer
Mike Campbell of Roseville
Mike Casteel of Thief River Falls
Larry Wiebusch Sr of Coon Rapids
Jenna Jahnke of Stillwater
Brandon Schmall of Lino Lakes
Mike Anderson of St. Joseph
Jim Higgins of South Haven
Gary Loeffelholz of Shafer
Toby Giese of Kandiyohi
Tanner Schiffner of West Fargo, N.D.
Dan Narusiewicz of St. Paul Park

Steve Elzy of Lindstrom
Lee Dugdale of Scandia
Jerry Hieb of Maple Grove
Troy Luberda of Foley
Rory Emmans of Nowthen
Joe Moriarty Sr. of Ham Lake
Scott Dugdale of Stacy

Pro ET
Wally Higby of Maple Grove
Reno Loeffelholz of Shafer
Travis Reutzel of Howard Lake
Tevin Zavadil of Clearwater
Bob Ingman of Andover
Joe Howell of Annandale
Nick Engler of South Haven
Joe Schmall of Lino Lakes
Dave Engler of Ramsey
Scott Dugdale of Stacy

Pro Bike
Brad Harder of Waconia
Jim Paulson of Stacy

High School
Zach Zavadil of Clearwater
Emma McFarland of Sabin

Russ Elzy of Becker
Steve Roehrs of Frederic, Wis.